In Brockton, Massachusetts, you are required to have a Firearms Identification Card if you want to lawfully purchase or possess a shotgun or rifle. To qualify for this license, you must be over the age of 15 and have completed a recognized gun safety course. Applicants that are under the age of 18 are required to have parental permission. It is also good to note that you must be under the age of 21. The license is valid for 6 years. Here are some additional pieces of information you need to understand about applying for the FID card Brockton.
Even before you start taking the mandatory gun safety courses in Brockton; it is imperative that you consider your eligibility. Your criminal record will be considered once you submit your application. The following are the permanent disqualifiers for a gun license in Brockton.
- Felony conviction
- Drug violation conviction
- Violent crime conviction
- Misdemeanor conviction that is punishable by a prison time of more than 2 years
If you fall in any of the above, it is wise to talk to an attorney to evaluate your options. Additional requirements you have to satisfy when applying for the FID card Brockton include:
- Mental issues. If you have ever been committed in an institution for mental health issues you will not qualify for the FID card unless you provide a signed affidavit from your attending doctor at the time that states the condition no longer affects you.
- Drug/alcohol abuse. Persons with a history of drug and alcohol abuse will also not qualify unless with a signed affidavit from a doctor which states the condition no longer applies.
- An applicant must be over the age of 15 but below the age of 21
- You must be a resident of Massachusetts
Firearms safety certificate
Now that you meet the basic requirements, the next step is to get a firearm safety certificate. This is issued after completing a gun safety course. These courses are offered by both private companies and the local police department. Make sure you are taking an accredited course else the certificate you get will be rejected. The purpose of the gun safety courses is simply to familiarize you with the gun laws and to teach you how to handle a firearm. Private companies offer additional courses which include self-defense.
Submit the forms
The submission of the FID application form has to be done in person. You will also need to be accompanied by your parent or guardian if you are under the age of 18. An additional interview might be required and your fingerprints will be taken for the purposes of background checks.
Even after satisfying all the basic requirements, it is good to note that your application might still be denied. You are required to submit an appeal within 90 days. Please refrain from making multiple calls to inquire about the status of your firearm license.