FID card Massachusetts is given to applicants over the age of 15 and under the age of 21. Just like the LTC Ma, the license is valid for a period of 6 years. If you are interested in purchasing, carrying or possessing a certain firearm in Massachusetts, you will need to get a gun license. If your interest is only in using or owning non-large capacity rifles or shotguns, you will have to submit an application for the firearm identification card.
What is the FID?
The firearm identification card, better known as the FID card, is a type of gun license Ma given to persons below the age of 21. This card will allow you to buy, possess and carry non-large capacity rifles, shotguns, and ammunition. Being non-capacity basically means that the firearm is not semi-automatic, a handgun, rifle capable of accepting over 10 rounds, an assault weapon or shotgun that can accept over 5 shells. There is also a restricted FID card that allows you to buy, purchase and carry mace and pepper spray. The FID card Ma is different from the LTC.
To be eligible for this gun license Ma, an applicant has to be at least 15 years old. They should also be a resident of Massachusetts. An applicant cannot have a conviction for any violent crime or have broken any drug laws. If you were convicted of any other crime, you will have to wait at least 5 years from the day you are released or from the time of your probationary period before you can apply for the FID card Ma. In addition to that, if you have been confided in an institution for mental illness or drug addiction, you must provide the appropriate paperwork from your physician. This should show that the condition no longer applies.
When applying for the FID, you are required to complete an approved Massachusetts gun safety course. This is unless you are applying for the restricted FID card which only allows you to obtain pepper spray and mace. You will find the list of all approved gun safety courses Ma from the website of the Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security. An application fee of $100 should also be paid. In some cases, you may need to provide written references from non-family members who vouch for your character. You will also need to provide documents that verify that you are a resident of Massachusetts. During the application, you have to be fingerprinted and photographed.
After the submission of the application for the FID card Massachusetts, your fingerprints will be sent to the state police for verification. This is done within 7 days. After that, your application will be authorized or denied within 30 days. Once this is done, you can get the gun license Ma within 2 to 6 weeks. If no response is given within these period, there is a good chance your application was denied. You can appeal within 90 days to the local district court.