Gun license Ma is issued to the residents of Massachusetts who are over the age of 15 and wish to carry, possess and transport ammunition, firearms and feeding devices. The firearm licenses are usually issued by the municipal police departments. If you are interested in the application of gun license, the first thing you need to do, therefore, is to visit your local police department for more information on the same.
Gun safety certificate
Without a gun safety certificate, you will be disqualified automatically when applying for the gun license. The Massachusetts laws state that anyone applying for the FID card or LTC Ma must have completed a recognized Massachusetts gun safety course. The first thing you need to do is hence to take a gun safety course. This can be through the local police department or through private companies that offer them.
Another important point you should understand is that on the licensing agency. In Massachusetts, the licensing agency is the local police department. This is the department that issues the firearm licenses. For assistance on the application, you should contact the local police department. They will also provide you with the required forms. The state agency resource for the public and law enforcement agencies is the office of public safety’s firearms record bureau. Here is where you can get information on Commonwealth’s gun laws.
There are mainly two types of licenses that are issued. Issuance is based on the age of the applicant.
- License to Carry
This is better known as the LTC Ma. It is a license issued to persons over the age of 21 years. It allows you to possess, purchase, transport and carry all large- and non-large-capacity handguns, shotguns, rifles, and ammunition as well as feeding devices. This is the only license that will allow you to carry concealed handguns. It is valid for 6 years. The application fee is $100.
- Firearms Identification Card
This permit is also known as the FID card Massachusetts. It is issued to persons over the age of 15 but below the age of 21. Applicants below the age of 18 must have parental permission in order to apply for this license. The permit will allow you to purchase, possess as well as transport non-large-capacity shotguns, rifles and ammunition. It is valid for 6 years. The application fee for the FID card Ma is $100.
These are the main pieces of information you should know about applying for a gun license Ma. For more information on the same, you should contact your local police department.