LTC Ma is awarded to persons over the age of 21 who meet all the primary requirements of applying for a gun license. However, it is important to note that not everyone who applies for the license ends up qualifying for one. There are so many things that are considered and the chief of police has the final word on whether you will qualify or not. In this post, we shall be looking at the main things that may cause your application for a gun license Ma to be denied.
Not taking gun courses
The first thing that is required of all applicants is a certificate from a recognized Massachusetts gun safety course. The law of Massachusetts requires that you understand all the gun laws and that you learn how to use a firearm before you can be awarded with the LTC. Today, you can take the course from a private company or those offered by the local police department. The courses do not take long. You will be educated on the gun laws as well as how to handle and store a firearm. A lot of time is spent on the firing range. At the end of the course, you will be awarded with a gun safety certificate. This certificate has to be presented together with your application for a gun license. Failure to do so will lead to automatic disqualification.
The LTC Ma is given to persons over the age of 21. This means that if you are under 21 years of age, your application will be declined. For persons below this age, they need to apply for the FID card Ma. The FID card Massachusetts is awarded to persons over the age of 15 and under the age of 21. It is valid for 6 years or until you attain the age of 21. The LTC is also valid for 6 years.
Another thing that can keep you from qualifying for the gun license even after completing the gun safety courses Massachusetts is your mental state. If you have ever been committed in an institution for mental instability or addiction, you will be denied the gun license Ma. This is unless you present a letter from your doctor that states that the condition no longer applies to you.
Last but not least, your criminal record will be considered. Persons who have ever been convicted of an offense punishable by a prison time of more than 2 years are less likely to qualify for the gun license or FID card Ma. The case is more severe if you have been convicted of a crime involving the illegal possession, sale or transportation of firearms or ammunition. Persons involved in domestic violence will also not qualify for the license. You should contact an attorney if this applies to you.