Gun license Ma can be issued to anyone who submits an application for one. If you are under the age of 21 but over 15 years old, you will need to apply for the FID card Ma and if you are over the age of 21, your application should be for the LTC Ma. However, you need to note that not every applicant ends up getting the license. There are so many requirements that an applicant has to meet in order to qualify. They include having a good criminal record, being of sane mind and being a resident of Massachusetts. If you feel you satisfy the requirements, you can go ahead and submit an application. Below is the basic steps you need to take.
Complete gun safety course
Applicants are required to prove that they have taken gun safety courses Ma. This means you will need to provide a gun safety certificate that you received from a recognized trainer. The gun safety courses Newton are offered by both the local police and private companies. The aim of the courses is to familiarize you with the gun laws and to teach you how to use a firearm properly. A typical course will only last a few hours. Upon the successful completion of the course, you will get a certificate. Whether you took advanced or basic gun training, you must provide the certificate you received.
Fill out the application forms
With the certificate in hand, you can go ahead and fill the application forms. You can get these forms from the local police department. When filling the forms, remember that you are doing so under oath. Giving false information may lead to prosecution. Make sure you indicate whether you are applying for an LTC or FID card Massachusetts. You also should indicate if you are applying for a new license or renewing your old one. In addition to the certificate you received after completing the Massachusetts gun safety course, you may be required to attach passport-size photos, recommendations, birth certificate or your passport, original and photocopy of your fingerprint receipt and your license card.
Pay the application fee
There is a fee that you need to pay when submitting your application. The application fee is usually $100 for either FID card or LTC Ma. You will be informed on how the fee is supposed to be paid. An interview may be required and your fingerprints may be taken onsite. That is why you should always submit your application forms in person.