Gun license Ma will allow you to carry a concealed weapon and also use it in self-defense. Every resident of Massachusetts has a legal right to apply for the LTC or FID card Ma. However, you need to note that not every person who submits an application ends up qualifying. If you wish to increase your chances of qualifying for the gun license, there are a number of things you should consider doing.
Beware of things that can limit you
The first thing is to take note of the things that may keep you from qualifying. There are a number of requirements that every applicant has to satisfy in order to get the FID card or LTC Ma. Starting by going through these requirements can help know what to do and what not to do. The main requirements include the following:
- The applicant must have a good criminal record. This means you must never been convicted of a crime that is punishable with a prison time of more than 2 years. If you have committed such a crime in the past, you should consider consulting an attorney prior to submitting your application for an LTC or FID card Massachusetts.
- Be of sane mind. Have you ever been committed in an institution for mental health or addiction? If yes, you need to get an affidavit from your attending doctor at the time stating that the condition no longer applies.
- Be of the right age. The LTC is issued to persons over the age of 21 whereas the FID card is given to applicants below the age of 21 but over the age of 15.
- Complete gun safety courses Ma. The applicant has to submit a copy of the certificate they received after completing a recognized gun safety course.
Complete a recognized gun safety course
Now that you understand the primary requirements, it is time to take a Massachusetts gun safety course. This usually takes a few hours. You will learn about the gun laws in Massachusetts and also how to fire, clean and store your firearm. You will get a certificate at the end of the course. Whether you are completing the gun safety courses Newton using a private company or through the local police department, make sure that the trainer is certified to offer the training.
Fill the application form truthfully
Being untruthful when filling the application form can cause you to be disqualified when applying for a gun license. Remember that you are filling the form under oath. Do so truthfully. Don’t forget to indicate if you are applying for the license for the first time or you are applying for a renewal.
Submit the form in person
Last but not least, you have to submit the application forms in person. This is because you may be asked more questions at the police station and your fingerprints will be taken for a background check. You should also carry the application fee of $100.