Gun license Ma is given to any resident of Massachusetts. However, it is good to note that not everyone that submits the application ends up qualifying for the license. The final say rests with the chief of police. If you plan on submitting an application for an LTC or FID card Massachusetts any time soon, it is good to prepare yourself sufficiently ahead of time. Here are a couple of things you should consider doing.
Complete a gun safety course
The first step is the most obvious. It is a requirement for every applicant to complete a recognized Massachusetts gun safety course. This is definitely the first thing you have to do. These courses are offered by both the local police and private companies. The key is to make sure you are taking the course from a certified trainer. The courses typically take a day to complete. You will be educated on the gun laws, gun safety as well as spend some time in the firing range. Upon the completion of gun safety courses Ma, you will be awarded with a certificate. This certificate has to be attached to your application for a gun license Ma. Failure to attach the certificate will lead to automatic disqualification.
Get a signed affidavit from your doctor if necessary
Have you ever been committed in an institution for mental health problems or addiction? If you have, you need to contact your doctor and request him to provide you with a signed affidavit that states that the condition no longer applies. The reason for this is because Massachusetts gun laws state clearly that no one with mental issues will be issued with the FID or LTC Ma.
Consider your criminal record
Your criminal record will also be considered during the application for an LTC or FID card Ma. If you have ever been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison time of more than 2 years, you may want to consider talking to an attorney. He will enlighten you on your options.
Set aside the application fee
If you feel confident that you will qualify, the next step is to set aside the application fee. Whether you are applying for an FID card Massachusetts or an LTC Ma, the application fee is $100 for either of them. Contact the local police department on how to pay the fee.
Determine the license that you need
Last but not least, prior to filling the application forms, you need to determine the license that you need. The FID card Ma is issued to persons over the age of 15 but under the age of 21. The LTC Ma is issued to persons over 21 years. Each license is valid for 6 years. Make sure you make a note if you are renewing your license.