Gun safety courses in Easthampton are there to educate you on gun safety, how to use and store a weapon as well as to help you understand the laws in Easthampton that touch on gun safety. You are required by law to complete these courses before you can be issued with a license to carry. In this post, we will be looking at the important points you need to understand before applying for a license to carry.
Before applying for a gun license, it is important to understand that you are required to be over the age of 21 years. This is in accordance with the Massachusetts General laws Chapter 140, 131(a) and (b). The law also outlines the restrictions that may keep you from qualifying for the gun license. The issuance of the license is determined by the licensing authority. You should also note that a service fee of $100 applies and the license will be valid for 6 months.
Even though in some way you manage to complete the gun safety courses in Easthampton but are under the age of 18, you will not qualify for the gun license. New FID applicants are required to be over the age of 18. Persons between the ages of 14 to 17 can apply for FID but with parental consent. Applicants who are 14 years will not be issued with the card until they are 15 years old. This is according to the Massachusetts General Laws in chapter 140, 129B. Again, the FID card attracts a fee of $100 for persons over the age of 18 and $25 for persons below the age of 18. The card is valid for 6 months.
The LTC and the FID are both valid for 6 months. You will have to renew the license after this period if you wish to continue carrying or owning a firearm. The request for renewal needs to be submitted before the license expires. When this is done, your current license will remain valid until the application for a renewal is approved or denied. For the purpose of renewal, you don’t need to complete additional gun safety courses.
Gun safety courses
The gun safety courses in Easthampton are a requirement if you wish to apply for a gun license. This is according to the Massachusetts General Laws. The law states that everyone applying for a license to carry for the first time must complete a certified firearms safety course or basic hunter education course. A certificate is issued at the end of the course and it needs to be submitted together with your application for the license to carry.
The certified firearms safety courses are offered by independent instructors who are certified by the Massachusetts Department of State Police. The course usually takes a day to complete. The Basic hunter education courses, on the other hand, are offered by the Division of Fisheries and Wildlife. They are taught by certified volunteer instructors. Make sure that you complete your gun safety courses in Easthampton with an instructor that will give you a valid certificate.