License to carry Paxton is a requirement for anyone who wishes to carry a concealed weapon. Failure to present this license to a law enforcement officer when carrying a concealed weapon can lead to an arrest. So, who is eligible for the LTC Ma? The purpose of this post is to help you understand the key requirements for qualifying for the LTC or FID Ma.
Gun safety course
The first thing you need to do is to complete a gun safety course Ma. The purpose of this course is mainly to educate you on the gun laws, how to handle a firearm and how to use it in self-defense. The number of lessons you learn will depend on where you are taking the Massachusetts gun safety course from. The courses are offered both by the local police departments and private companies. The key is to make sure that the trainer you plan on working with is certified. At the end of the course, you will be awarded with a certificate which you have to attach to your application when applying for a license to carry Ma.
Be over 21 years of age
Another requirement you will not be able to evade when applying for an LTC Ma is that on age. Any applicant that is interested in the license to carry Paxton must be over the age of 21 years. If you are under the age of 21, you can only apply for the FID Ma. For you to get the FID, you have to be over the age of 15, have completed a Massachusetts gun safety course and have parental permission.
To qualify for a gun license, you have to be of sane mind. You must never have been committed in an institution for mental health. If you have ever been committed but the situation no longer applies to you, you will have to provide a document from your doctor that states that the condition no longer applies. The gun laws of Massachusetts states clearly that no one unstable mind should be issued with a license to carry Ma. Still on sanity, you should note be addicted to any substance. This includes alcohol. If you have been committed in rehab for the same, you will need a letter from your caregiver which states that the condition no longer applies.
Good criminal record
You criminal record will be considered when applying or the license to carry Paxton. The record does not need to be sparkling clean. However, there are certain offenses that will keep you from every qualifying for the LTC or FID Ma. They mostly include crimes that are punishable by at least two years of prison time. If you have been involved in domestic violence or in the possession, sale or distribution of firearms or ammunition, you will also not be able to qualify for the LTC.
These are the main requirements you have to satisfy when applying for the license to carry Ma. Understanding these qualifications early will help make the necessary requirements.