LTC Ma is given to all residents of Massachusetts who are interested in owning a firearm. However, it is important to understand that there is a process involved for anyone who wishes to own a firearm. In this post, we will be taking a look at the main points you have to understand prior to applying for the gun license Ma.
Not everyone qualifies
Although every resident of Massachusetts is eligible for the gun license Ma, not everyone who submits an application ends up qualifying. This is because of the stringent process that is involved to verify that an applicant is suitable. There are three main things that are looked at.
The first is the criminal record of the applicant. Anyone who has ever been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison time of more than 2 years will not be eligible for the license to carry. The case is the same for people who have ever been involved in domestic violence or those convicted of crimes involved in the possession, distribution or sale of illegal firearms. If your criminal record is not that good, you should consider involving an attorney. He will help evaluate your options.
The mental health of an applicant is the second thing that is looked at. The Massachusetts’ gun laws are clear on the issuance of an LTC or FID card Massachusetts to persons with mental health problems. If you have ever been committed in an institution for mental health, this includes addictions; your chances of qualifying for the license will be small. You will need to provide a letter from your doctor which states the condition no longer applies to you.
You must have completed a Massachusetts gun safety course. You have to attach a certificate that shows you have completed recognized gun safety courses Ma. This has to be attached to your application. If the certificate is unavailable, you will be disqualified automatically.
A gun safety course has to be completed first
Gun safety courses are offered by both police departments and private companies. When taking the courses, you will be educated of the gun laws in Massachusetts as well as how to handle, fire, store and transport a firearm. It is imperative that all applicants complete recognized gun safety courses Massachusetts before submitting their application for an FID or LTC.
There are fees involved
Whether you are applying for the FID cad Massachusetts or the LTC, you will have to pay a processing fee. This is usually $100. The gun license MA is valid for 6 months.
There are penalties
Last but not least, you should understand that the violations of gun rules even when you have an LTC Ma will lead to penalties. You may even lose your license to carry. Familiarize yourself with the gun laws and follow them without compromise.