LTC Woburn is a requirement for anyone who wishes to buy or carry a concealed weapon. This has been set in the Massachusetts laws. Licensing is done through the local police department of the Massachusetts state police if there is no local licensing authority available. You will need to have a license if you want to buy a firearm or ammunition. In addition to that, for you to qualify for the LTC, you must have passed state approved gun safety classes Woburn.
Criminal History Board
When applying for the license to carry Woburn, it is important for you to understand that all the interviews, applications, fingerprinting and fees are done at the local police department. They are then sent to the Massachusetts Criminal History Board electronically. Once they are received a background check and processing is done. If you are approved, you will receive the license from the issuing local police department. The licensing information will then be stored by the Criminal History Board.
Applicants must be U.S. citizens and residents of Massachusetts. There is, however, provision for the non-residents. Non-residents need to contact the local police department to ask about their options when applying for the LTC. If you are a non-resident and plan on carrying in Massachusetts, you will need to complete approved gun safety courses Woburn first. After submitting you application and being approved, you will be given a temporary license to carry through the State Police before your travel.
Types of licenses
The type of license you apply for in Massachusetts will depend on your age. Although the A and B licenses to carry are no longer being issued since January 2015, there are two main types of licenses you can apply for.
The first is the FID (Firearms Identification Card). The FID is issued to persons under the age of 21 but over the age of 15. Parental permission is required. The FID will allow you to byer rifle and shotguns with a capacity of up to 10 rounds. These should only be used in hunting and sporting purposes only. The police chief determines the suitability of an applicant to qualify for the FID. The FID card is valid for 6 years.
The second type is the LTC (license to carry). This is issued to persons over the age of 21. It will allow you to purchase and carry legal firearms in Massachusetts. You must have the license to carry Woburn on you every time you are carrying your firearm.
To qualify for either the FID or LTC, you need first to complete state approved gun safety courses Woburn. Second, you must have a good criminal record. Felony offenses punishable by a period of more than 2 years will keep you from qualifying for the LTC. You also need to be of good mental health.
These are important points you need to understand about the license to carry Woburn. Keeping these points in mind will help you take the right actions when applying for either the LTC or FID.