Gun license Ma will allow you to purchase a firearm. It is important to, however, note that you can easily lose your license if you don’t follow the laws. In this post, we will be taking a look at the key information you need to understand about applying for an FID card or LTC Ma.
Gun safety course
Every applicant is required to present a gun safety certificate. This is a certificate issued after completing a recognized Massachusetts gun safety course. These short courses are offered by both the local police department and private companies. They only last a few hours and are meant to familiarize you with Massachusetts gun laws and also to teach you how to handle and store a firearm. The most important thing you need to do is to ensure you are taking gun safety courses Newton from certified trainers.
In Massachusetts, the license issuing authority is the state police or police chief. The LTC or FID card Massachusetts is only issued to the residents. The non-residents are required to contact the Firearms Record Bureau. You can visit your local police department for the application form and for more information on gun license Ma.
Persons under the age of 21 get the FID card Ma. This is a license issued to persons under the age of 21 but over the age of 15. If you are under the age of 18, you will be required to get parental permission. The LTC is issued to persons over the age of 21. Both the LTC and FID cards are valid for 6 years. However, if you are out of state, it will be valid for a year. You are required to renew your license before it expires.
If your application is approved, you will receive your license within 40 days. However, if it is denied, you have up to 90 days to petition in the district court for a review.
Applying for a gun license Ma is not free of charge. The processing fee for the FID card and LTC Ma is $100. The fee for the temporary license is also $100. You will be informed at the local police department on how to pay the fee.
Off limit places
Last but not least, it is good to note that there are some practices that will cause you to lose your gun license. You must never possess your firearm while drunk and your concealed weapon must remain out of sight in public places.