Applying for a gun license Ma is not all that difficult. Although strict, the qualification requirements are pretty straightforward. The purpose of this post is to help you understand the basic information you need to have when applying for an LTC or FID card Ma.
Not everyone who submits an application for an LTC Ma ends up qualifying. This is because there are several requirements that the applicant must satisfy. They include the following.
- Resident of Massachusetts
The first requirement is the most obvious. For you to qualify for the license to carry, you must be residents of Massachusetts. If you are not, you will have to contact the Firearm Record Bureau to understand your options.
- Right age
If you are applying for the FID card Massachusetts, you will be required to be over the age of 15 but below the age of 21. Applicants under the age of 18 are required to have parental permission. For the LTC applicants, they must be over the age of 21.
- Gun safety certificate
The gun laws in Massachusetts require that every applicant complete a recognized Massachusetts gun safety course. The course will familiarize you with the gun laws and teach you how to handle a firearm. You will be issued with a gun safety certificate. Gun safety courses Ma are offered by both the local police department and private companies. You only need to make sure that the trainer is certified to offer the course.
- Good criminal record
Your criminal record will be considered. If you have ever been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison time of more than two years, you might not qualify for the gun license Ma. Other cases considered are domestic violence and firearm related offenses. A good lawyer will help you understand your options.
- Sane mind
Every applicant is required to be of sane mind. If you have ever been committed in an institution for mental health or drug/alcohol abuse, you will not qualify for the LTC unless you submit a signed affidavit from your doctor which states the conditions no longer affect you.
Even after satisfying all the aforementioned requirements, it is good to note that the final decision rests with the chief of police. He is the issuing authority. You can petition at the district court within 90 days if your application is denied.
When applying for the license to carry, you will be required to pay an application fee of $100. You must also submit the application forms in person. Some additional documents that may be required from you include the following:
- Gun safety certificate from an approved Massachusetts gun safety course
- Completed application form
- Copy of your ID card or driver’s license
- Copy of your passport or birth certificate
- A letter justifying your request for a gun license
- Two passport photos
- 2 fingerprint cards
- Proof of residency
- Report from the state Bureau of Criminal Records that lists your arrest record
These are the basic requirements for applying for a gun license. If you meet all the requirements, you can go ahead and submit your application. If you don’t, seek advice from an attorney on how to proceed.