Gun license Ma is the first thing you need to apply for if you wish to carry a concealed firearm. The license will enable you to purchase firearm and also carry the firearm in more public places. However, it is good to understand a few things about gun laws in Massachusetts before you start applying for the LTC or FID Ma.
You have to complete gun safety course
Every applicant must have completed an approved Massachusetts gun safety course. This is required by law. The purpose of the course is to educate you on the gun laws, familiarize you with gun handling, storage and at times train you on self-defense. The gun safety courses Newton don’t take a lot of time. At the end of the course, you will be awarded with a gun safety certificate. This certificate has to be attached to your application for a gun license.
You must meet the basic requirements
One crucial point you need to note is that successfully completing the gun safety courses Ma doesn’t guarantee that you will qualify for the gun license. There are more requirements you have to satisfy. To start with, the applicant for an FID card Massachusetts has to be over the age of 15 and with parental permission whereas those applying for the LTC have to be over the age of 21. Your criminal record has to be clean. You should not have been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison time of more than 2 years. The applicant should also be of sane mine. You also have to be a resident of Massachusetts. Special provisions are available for the non-residents and aliens.
Massachusetts is a ‘may issue’ state
What the above phrase means is that even after satisfying all the basic requirements, your application for the gun license Ma can still be denied. The reason for this is because the chief of police (the issuing authority) is the one who determines whether you qualify for the FID or LTC Ma or not. The issuing authority must provide you with a written explanation for the denial of your application. The denial is subject to appeal.
Qualifying for the LTC or FID card Ma does not mean you will keep the license indefinitely. Certain violations may cause you to lose your license. In addition to that, it is good to understand that the LTC and the FID are valid for 6 years. You will need to apply for a renewal before your current license expires. For the renewal, you don’t need to retake the gun safety courses Newton.
The above pieces of information will help you better prepare yourself when applying for the FID or LTC. For more information on the same, you should visit your local police department. The local police department will also give you the application forms.