If you live in Cranston, Rhode Island and wish to apply for a gun license, there are a couple of things you will need to know. In this article, we will be taking a quick look at the essential pieces of information you will need to have before applying for an FID card Cranston.
The gun license in Cranston is issued by both the Local Authorities and the Attorney General. If you need more information on applying for the license, you can contact the local police department which is also an issuing authority. You will be able to apply for a pistol permit too. However, it is important to note that most local authorities will refer you to the attorney general when applying for a pistol permit.
Just like all states, a background check will be required when applying for an FID card Cranston. Once your application for the gun license is received, the local authorities or the attorney general will check your background with the local, state and Federal law enforcement databases. A background check may also be done against other sources in regards to pending criminal cases, court records, restraining orders, discrepancies in your background which include the history of your mental health. Applicants are required to submit the application forms in person. An additional interview may be required and your fingerprints will be taken.
The gun license in Rhode Island is valid for a period of 4 years. You are required to apply for a renewal before your current license expires. Just because you had a gun license doesn’t mean your renewal will be approved automatically. If you violated gun laws, you might lose your gun license. Applying for a renewal is the same as applying for a new license only that you will not be required to submit a set of your fingerprints again. If your license is stolen, damaged or lost, you will need to contact the local authorities or attorney general.
The processing time for a pistol permit is 90 days. You will be issued or denied with the license to carry within 90 days.
The processing fee is $40. The fee is paid when picking up your permit. The money is paid in check or money order. You should not send the money with your application. The fee for a renewal is also $40.