The process of applying for the FID card Fall River is the same as that of applying for any gun license in Massachusetts. The steps you are required to take are the same. In this post, we shall be taking a quick look at the crucial steps that you will be required to take when you want to apply for the gun license in Fall River.
Meet basic requirements
Prior to looking at the steps you need to take, it is fundamental that you understand the basic requirements. Failing to meet these requirements will keep you from qualifying for the FID card in Fall River.
- Be over the age of 15 but under the age of 21. Persons under the age of 18 are required to have parental permission.
- Have a good criminal record.
- Have no history of alcohol or drug abuse.
- Be of sane mind
Now that you are sure you meet the basic requirements, you can go ahead and submit an application for the FID card. It is also good to note that this license will restrict you only to the non-large capacity rifles and shotguns. If you are over the age of 21, it is better to apply for the LTC even if you don’t intend to carry. For persons below the age of 21, they can upgrade to the LTC once they attain the age of 21.
Attend a firearms safety course
A gun license in Fall River is only issued to persons who have completed a recognized firearms safety course. The courses are offered by both the local police and private companies. Upon completing the course, you will be awarded with a gun safety certificate. This should be attached to your application for an FID card Fall River.
The gun safety courses cover the following:
- Massachusetts gun laws
- Firearm safety rules
- Parts and functions of a firearm
- Safe gun handling techniques
- Loading and unloading a firearm
- Ammunition and its components
- Fundamentals of shooting
- Actual shooting
The course only last a few hours.
Submit your application
You will get the application forms at your local police department. These forms have to be completed clearly. You also need to indicate that you are applying for the FID card. The application fee is $100. The forms have to be submitted in person. If you are under the age of 18, you need written consent from your parent or guardian.
These are the two steps that are required when applying for an FID card Fall River. Even after meeting all the basic requirements, it is good to note that not everyone who submits an application qualifies. Massachusetts has some of the strictest gun laws in the United States. If your application is denied, feel free to appeal the denial within 90 days.