You can apply for an FID card Newton if you are a resident of Massachusetts and over the age of 15 but below the age of 21. The license is valid for a period of 6 years. Upon attaining the age of 21, you can upgrade to the LTC. Persons below the age of 18 are required to have parental permission when applying for the license. Let’s take a quick look at the process of applying for the FID card in Newton.
Take the class
The first step when applying for an FID card Newton is obviously to take the firearms safety class. The gun laws in Massachusetts state that an applicant must first complete a recognized gun safety course in order to be approved for a gun license. The gun safety courses in Newton are offered by both private companies and the local police departments. Your choice of course will depend on convenience and the number of units you wish to cover. Private companies tend to be more thorough than the police departments which only cover the basics.
The gun safety courses only take a few hours to complete. The following areas will be covered:
- Massachusetts gun laws regarding storage, usage and transportation of firearms
- Firearms safety rules
- Safe gun handling techniques
- Firearm parts and their functions
- Loading and unloading a firearm
- Ammunition and its components
- Fundamentals of shooting
- Actual shooting
As aforementioned, the number of areas covered will depend on your instructor as well as where you are taking the course. After completing the course, you will be issued with a firearms safety certificate. This has to be submitted together with your application for a gun license.
Complete the forms accurately
Now that you have your gun safety certificate, the next step is to head to the local police department and get the application form. You will be instructed on how to complete the forms. Remember that you will be filling the forms under oath so don’t give false information. You must also state you reason for applying for an FID card Newton. Don’t forget to attach a written consent from your parent if you are under the age of 18 and also a written reason for applying for the license. The application fee is $100.
Understand the limits
You will not qualify automatically for the FID card in Newton. There are many things that are considered. Take the time to understand how your criminal and mental history might affect your chances of qualifying for the license. If you have ever been convicted, you might want to discuss your situation with an attorney.