The application for an FID card Lawrence, Kansas, requires that you have a few basics regarding the gun laws. The last thing you want is for your application to be denied simply because you didn’t do everything by the book. If you are considering the option of applying for a firearm ID in Lawrence, here are the important pieces of information you need to have.
Do you need an FID to carry?
The first point you need to understand about the State of Kansas is that you don’t need to have a Concealed Carry License in order to carry a concealed weapon. The change was made in July 1st, 2015. This is provided you have not been prohibited from possessing a firearm. However, to take advantage of the reciprocity that Kansas has with other states, you should consider applying for the FID card Lawrence. To apply for the license, you do so at the Sheriff’s office.
Application for the firearm ID is done at the Sheriff of the county you live in. However, it is good to remember that the issuing authority here is the Attorney General. Once you submit your application for the license and it is approved, you will be required to attend a participating drivers’ license office. Here a photo will be taken. You will get a paper version at that time and the actual license within 2 weeks. This will be mailed to you.
To make sure you are a good fit for the FID card Lawrence, a background check will be done. This is done by the Attorney General. Once your application is received, the Attorney General will use your fingerprints to conduct a background check. This is done against the local and national databases. The background check is also done when renewing your license.
A background check can be exempted if you are purchasing firearm according to the ATF Permanent Brady Permit Chart. This applies to the licensed that are issued after July 1st 2010.
Validity of the license
The FID card is valid for a period of 4 years. However, it is good to note that you can lose the license if you violate the gun laws. A renewal can also be denied if you have committed any offenses.
What are the application requirements?
Not everyone that submits an application for the gun license gets one. You have to satisfy the following requirements:
- Pay the application fee of $132.50
- Provide photocopy of certificate that has been signed by the attorney general showing completion of required firearm training course.
- Have a passport-type color photo
- Provide photocopy of your Kansas driver’s license of the Kansas identification card.
There are many things that can cause your application to be denied. For starters, an applicant is required to have a good criminal record and be of sane mind.