A gun license Ma is a requirement for anyone who wants to legally carry firearm or pepper spray. There are special provisions of the non-residents and U.S. citizens living in Massachusetts. If you are planning on making an application, there are a couple of things you need to understand about an FID or LTC.
In January of 2015, the Class B LTC was discontinued. However, persons in passion of this license can still use it until its expiry. There are currently two types of gun licenses:
- FID card Ma. This is short for Firearms Identification card. It is the license issued to persons under the age of 21 but over the age of 15. It is valid for 6 years. Applicants under the age of 18 must get parental permission. The license allows you to buy and posse non-large capacity firearms and ammunition.
- LTC Ma. This stands for License to Carry. The license is issued to persons over the age of 21. It is also valid for 6 years upon which you need to apply for a renewal. The license allows you to buy and possess large and non-large capacity firearms and ammunition. It also allows you to carry concealed handguns.
For you to qualify for either of the license, you must first complete a recognized Massachusetts gun safety course. Applicants are also required to have a good criminal record in which they should not have been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison time of more than two years. They also need to provide details on any involvement in domestic violence as well as alcohol or drug addiction.
Application and procedure
The most important step in the application for an LTC Ma is completing gun safety courses Newton. You are required to attach a copy of your gun safety certificate. You also need to be of the right age. Applications are submitted to the local police department where the chief of police conducts a background check to determine whether an applicant qualifies or not.
Purchasing and selling firearms
If you hold an LTC or an FID card Massachusetts, you can purchase a firearm. A license holder can also sell a maximum of 4 guns in a year through private transfers. To sell guns full-time, you need to be a licensed Massachusetts firearms dealer. Every sale has to be reported to the Firearms Records Bureau within 7 days of sale. Firearms you purchase from other states must also be reported to the Firearms Records Bureau within 7 days of the transaction.
Firearms and large-capacity weapons that are sold by a Massachusetts licensed firearms dealer must also include safety devices provided that have been provided by the Colonel of the Ma State Police. Non-large capacity rifles and shotguns are excluded from the safety locks law.
There is a lot more you need to know about gun laws in Massachusetts. Keep brushing up on your knowledge to avoid losing your license.